OU Law Professor Sarah Burstein named Chair of the ABA Design Committee

The American Bar Association Section of Intellectual Property Law (ABA/IPL) has named OU Law Professor Sarah Burstein chair of its Design Committee.  While she does not officially assume the role until September 1st, she is already getting down to business.  She has spearheaded the effort to change the committee’s name from the Industrial Design Committee to the Design Committee.   

“The basic goal was to change the name to "better reflect the products and processes that are the key subjects of design protection in the 21st century,” said Professor Burstein.   


OU Law Alumnus Vincent Logan named Special Trustee for American Indians

The U.S. Senate confirms OU Law alumnus Vincent G. Logan as the next Special Trustee for American Indians in the U.S. Department of Interior.  Logan is a member of Osage Nation and a founding member of the Native American Bar Association of Washington, DC.  

Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell said, “As an investment professional, a mentor for Native American attorneys, and a member of the Osage Nation, Vince has been deeply rooted in Indian Country for many decades.


OU Law Professor and Student Attend U.S. State Department's Advisory Committee on International Law Meeting

On June 20, Professor Evelyn Aswad and rising 3L Stacey Lehne attended the State Department's Advisory Committee on International Law (ACIL) meeting in Washington, DC.   "I enjoyed listening to the exchange of ideas concerning the situation in the Ukraine and the closing of Guantanamo," Lehne said.  ACIL is comprised of all former Legal Advisers of the Department of State and other individuals appointed by the Department. 


OU Law LLM Class of 2014 Celebrates Graduation

Approximately 35 LL.M. candidates, their families, friends, and OU Law professors celebrated graduation on May 9. Students shared their favorite foods from their home countries—ranging from barbecue ribs to kodi guddu gasagasala jura: boiled eggs in poppy seed sauce.

Professors attending included Owen Anderson, Taiawagi Helton, Peter Kutner, Monica Ehrman, Gail Mullins, Daniel Nicholson, and David Dye.


Professor Robertson receives The David L. Boren Award for Outstanding Global Engagement

OU Law Professor Lindsay Robertson was selected as the first recipient of The David L. Boren Award for Outstanding Global Engagement.  This award was designed to recognize The University of Oklahoma faculty who has exhibited outstanding commitment to and support for the university’s international mission.

Professor Robertson has had a profound impact on the College of Law’s efforts to promote greater global engagement.