banner image

Writing Competition

2017-2018 AILR Writing Competition Results

The American Indian Law Review congratulates the winners
of its 2017-2018 national writing competition:

1st place ($1,000) – Sam Pokross, Stanford Law School
"’Dramatically Altered the Legal Landscape’? City of Sherrill v. Oneida Indian Nation
in the Lower Courts”

2nd place ($500) – Lane Kaiwi Opulauoho, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
“Trust Lands for the Native Hawaiian Nation: Lessons from Federal Indian Law Precedents”

3rd place ($250) – Kaitlyn Schaeffer,  NYU School of Law
“The Constitutionality of the Tribal VAWA Provisions”

The AILR also recognizes two other entrants who finished
among the competition's five finalists:

Brecken Larson, Washburn University School of Law
“A Unified Approach to Tribal Probate Matters Involving Land Use”

Peter Quinn-Jacobs, Marshall-Wythe School of Law
“Designating the Sacred: A Contest of Religious Values Between Native
and Non-Native Americans”

This Year's Finalist Round Judges

The editors of the American Indian Law Review also wish to express their deep appreciation to the distinguished scholars who judged the five competition finalists:

Matthew L.M. Fletcher
Professor of Law, Michigan State University College of Law

Ezra Rosser
Professor of Law, Washington College of Law, American University

Wendy B. Scott
Professor of Law, Mississippi College School of Law

Alex Tallchief Skibine
S.J. Quinney Endowed Professor of Law, University of Utah College of Law

AILR on Digital Commons

Explore the American Indian Law Review on OU Law's Digital Commons.

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law