Taylor Peshehonoff and Ashton Poarch Win 1L Moot Court Competition

April 12, 2018 | By Melissa Caperton, Director of Communications
The 2018 1L Moot Court Competition Winners, Ashton Poarch and Taylor Peshehonoff

For the past three and a half weeks, all 1L OU Law students participated in the 1L Moot Court Competition. Each round took place in various court rooms, conference rooms and classrooms throughout Coats Hall. The annual competition is organized by the OU Law Board of Advocates and sponsored by Whitten Burrage.

Congratulations to this year’s winners, Taylor Peshehonoff and Ashton Poarch! And job well done to the other final team of Austin Sheehy and Grayson Walker. Special congratulations to Nick Marr for being awarded the title of Best Speaker.

Grayson Walker and Austin Sheehy
Grayson Walker and Austin Sheehy

OU Law extends a special thanks to the following final round judges:

Judge Wayne Alley, Western District of Oklahoma (retired); Jurist in Residence, OU College of Law
Dean Emeritus Valerie Couch, Oklahoma City University School of Law
Vice Chief Justice Noma Gurich, Oklahoma Supreme Court
Dean Joseph Harroz Jr., OU College of Law
Attorney General Mike Hunter, State of Oklahoma
Judge Scott Palk, Western District of Oklahoma
Judge Scott Rowland, Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals
Judge Reta Strubhar, Oklahoma Court of Criminal Appeals (retired)
Justice Patrick Wyrick, Oklahoma Supreme Court

2018 1L Moot Court Competition Final Round Judges and Finalists


Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law