OU Law Competition Teams Have Another Great Year!

April 14, 2014 | By Jessica Jones

The BLSA Moot Court team of Jonathan Brewer and Marcus Barahona placed 3rd at the national competition in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  The team won first place at the regional competition in Austin, Texas.   OU Law alumni Chris Staine and Marcus Bivines coached the team.  A dozen other OU/BLSA alums helped this team, including a practice round at the Judicial Center presided by Judge David Lewis.

Madison Blocker, Jarrad Cormier, and Eric Odom advanced to the Elite 8 in the Widener Vale Corporate Law Moot Court competition in Delaware.  Professor Megan Shaner coached this team which was the first team to represent OU Law at this competition. 

Two teams traveled to Carbondale, Illinois for the National Health Law Competition.  Elizabeth Isaacs and Elise Puma made it to the final round and won SECOND PLACE.   Justin Hedges and Rachel Sibila advanced to the elite 8.  Professor Gail Mullins coached both teams.

The Negotiation Team headed to the windy city to represent The University of Oklahoma College of Law in the ABA National Competition.  Taylor Jones and Zack Ryan competed against 24 other teams and advanced to the semi-final round finishing in fifth place overall.  The team was coached by Professor Erin Means. 

Two teams coached by Professor Rick Tepker represented OU Law at the National Moot Court competition.  Sally Harrison, Anna Imose, and Emily Payne advanced as top seed into the elimination rounds, losing in the Elite 8 round by less than two points.  The team also wrote the 3rd best brief.  Carrie Phillips, Drew McNeil, and Nicole Lynn wrote the 2nd place brief.

OU Law hosted this year’s National Native American Law Student Association Moot Court competition where two teams competed.  Randi Hardin and Kelby Kennedy advanced to the Elite 8  and Andy Casey and Matt Covert advanced to the Sweet 16.  Andy Casey was selected as Best Oralist for the Competition.  Professor Taiawagi Helton coached both teams.  In addition, OU Law Professor Lindsay Robertson drafted the problem for this year’s national competition. 

OU College of Law was the only school to have two teams advance to the Sweet 16 at the ABA National Appellate Advocacy competition.  Kelsey Frobisher, Blake Johnson, and Alex Duncan made up one team and Brett Merritt, Andrew Henry, and Jeff Vogt, who advanced to the Elite 8, made up the second team.  Blake Johnson was named the 8th Best Speaker in the competition.  This team was coached by Professor Michelle Johnson.

Two OU Law teams also competed in the ABA Client Counseling regional competition.   Both teams advanced to the final round where Kaitlyn Schrick and Haleigh Collins placed 2nd and Lauren Mitcham and Jesse Muth placed 3rd.  Professor Connie Smothermon and her husband Richard coached these teams. 

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law