Meet the Class of 2015

BACK TO LIST

Photo

Kim Ikegbunam

Houston, Texas

1. Where did you grow up?

I was born and raised in Houston, Texas but my family is originally from Anambra State in Southeast Nigeria.

2. Where did you attend undergrad?

I attended undergrad at the University of Texas at Austin. I also competed as a student athlete on The Women’s Track and Field Team my first three years of undergrad.

3. What degree(s) have you earned?

I earned a Bachelor’s degree with Departmental Honors in Government and a minor in African and African-American Studies

4. Why did you choose to attend OU Law?

As Susan Wilson can attest, I was probably one of the most unlikely candidates to be so excited to attend OU Law! As I mentioned before, I am a Longhorn and I did not even consider OU Law until I met them at a Law Fair. A friend of mine asked me to check out the OU Law table, and I refused to even consider it and walked right past it! On my way out, I noticed an ad for Pros for Africa on the iPad display. I have always had a huge passion for Africa, and I fell in love with the Law Students for Africa program once I heard about it! My visit to OU Law sealed the deal. I loved the campus, and I was excited to learn more about the International Human Rights Clinic and the dual MBA program.

5. What is your favorite thing about OU?

My favorite thing about OU is the genuinely friendly atmosphere. Everyone I met on my visit showed a sincere interest in helping me make my decision.

6. What (or who) inspired you to pursue a legal education?

I was initially inspired to pursue a legal education as a result of a visit to Nigeria when I was about thirteen years old. I was truly saddened by the fact that my family there could not experience the same qualities of life because of their corrupt government. While my initial plan was to overthrow the Nigerian government (I am not sure how successful that would have been at age thirteen – ha ha!), I figured the best way to handle issues of injustice was to become involved in law and politics. I have not desired to do anything else ever since, and I am so happy to have found a program that will take me one step closer to accomplishing these goals.

7. What is an interesting fact about you?

I am the middle child of five! I hope to have a big family someday.  Also, I don’t know how to whistle!