At OU Law, the scholarship process takes place in several stages. Many scholarships are awarded to incoming first-year students shortly after admittance to OU Law. We also reserve many scholarships for first, second, and third-year students that are distributed during both fall and spring semesters. 


All OU Law applications completed by the March 15 deadline will be considered for academic scholarships. No separate scholarship application is required. The Scholarship Committee typically distributes available funds based on academic achievement, successful performance on the LSAT and other life experiences. If you are awarded a scholarship, we will notify you promptly after you have been admitted to OU Law.

The Comfort Scholarship is one of the most prestigious awards at OU Law. Through a generous endowment from William T. Comfort, Jr. and James T. Comfort, OU Law awards merit-based scholarships to incoming students with exemplary academic qualifications and LSAT scores. The Comfort Scholarship is awarded without regard to financial need.  In addition, typically the top 10 students in each of the second and third year classes are considered for Comfort "Top Ten" Scholarships. Comfort Scholars are considered to be among the most outstanding group of incoming students.

The Frank and Edna Asper Elkouri Scholarship is one of our newest and most impressive awards.  Professor Frank Elkouri, a nationally noted authority on labor arbitration, joined the faculty in 1952 and remained with the College of Law for 58 years.   Prior to joining the faculty, Elkouri practiced with the Oklahoma City law firm of Quinlan & Elkouri and was an attorney with the National Wage Stabilization Board in Washington, D.C., and Dallas. From 1952 until 1957, in addition to teaching, he was the advisor to the Office of the President at OU. Elkouri was appointed to a George Lynn Cross Research Professorship in 1975 and awarded the Whitney North Seymour Medal from the American Arbitration Association in 1980. Though he retired in 1985, he continued his leadership as professor emeritus at the law school through 2010.  It is Frank and Edna Asper Elkouri’s desire to help defray the cost of tuition and educational expenses of a number of our most academically exceptional law students.
The College of Law offers additional recruitment scholarships based on the application for admission.  Admitted students can expect to be notified of a merit-based scholarship within a month of an admission decision.  Please contact the Office of Admissions for additional information.


In addition to incoming student scholarships, OU Law administers a scholarship and awards program based on a scholarship application. This application is given to all students after classes begin in the fall. By completing the application, students are considered for all merit, interest and need-based scholarships for which they qualify. Scholarships range from several hundred to several thousand dollars. One scholarship even awards professional clothing. The Scholarship Committee makes decisions in September and March of each year.