OU Law Professor Emeritus to Receive Prestigious Homer Kripke Achievement Award

February 19, 2018 | By Melissa Caperton, Director of Communications
OU Law Professor Emeritus Frederick H. Miller

Media Contact: 
Melissa Caperton
(405) 325-2227

NORMAN — Frederick H. Miller, professor emeritus at the University of Oklahoma College of Law, is this year’s recipient of the lifetime achievement award from the American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers.

The Homer Kripke Achievement Award recognizes a career of noteworthy leadership and a history of exceptional dedication to the improvement of commercial finance law and practice. Award recipients have contributed to, and often changed the course of, commercial finance law and practice through activities that have had a lasting and significant impact.

Miller will be formally honored at the American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers’ annual meeting in April in Orlando, Florida.

“Professor Fred Miller is an extremely deserving recipient of the Homer Kripke Achievement Award,” said OU Law Dean Joseph Harroz Jr. “His scholarship and contributions to the field of commercial law have not only enriched our students’ understanding of the law, but have impacted the professional community as well. This award is certainly the capstone to his distinguished career.”

Miller joined the OU Law faculty in 1966. He taught courses on commercial law, consumer law, contracts, and real estate finance transactions.

He is a member of the Order of the Coif, Phi Beta Kappa, the American Law Institute, the Oklahoma Bar Association and the American Bar Association. He has been of counsel to several Oklahoma law firms.

Miller is a Commissioner from Oklahoma to the National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (NCCUSL), and served as its Executive Director and chair of its Executive Committee. Miller also served as a past president of the NCCUSL, as chair of the Permanent Editorial Board for Uniform Commercial Code, as chair of the ABA’s Business Law Section Uniform Commercial Code Committee, as a member of the Council of that Section, and as a member of the Section’s Publications Board. He has authored or co-authored over 100 articles and books or book chapters.

The Kripke Award honors the memory of Homer Kripke, a former assistant general counsel at The CITIGroup Inc. who was appointed the Chester Rohrlich Professor of Corporate Law, Finance and Taxation at New York University School of Law. Additional information about the Homer Kripke Achievement Award, including past recipients, can be found at www.accfl.com/awards.  

Founded in 1909, the OU College of Law is Oklahoma’s premier law school. OU Law offers small sections and class sizes that encourage a strong sense of community; accomplished faculty with international expertise; and a state-of-the-art facility equipped with the latest technology. The OU College of Law is the academic home of more than 700 students enrolled in the juris doctor program, the John B. Turner Master of Laws Program, the master of legal studies program and various dual degree programs. For more information about OU Law, visit law.ou.edu.

Thank you for your interest in applying to OU Law

Please select your program of interest to learn more about the application process.

J.D. ProgramM.L.S. ProgramLL.M. ProgramLegal Assistant Education Not sure? Learn more about admissions at OU Law